Desserts · recipes · Uncategorized

Vanilla Kipferl – Alsatian Christmas Cookie

Hello everybody!

I hope you all had a good time during the holidays and have been spoiled with good food and amazing gifts! No need to tell you that I have been cooking a lot during this period and especially Christmas cookies!

As I probably already told you before, I am from a region very close to Alsace and most of my family is from Alsace so I have been immersed in the culture since I am a baby. If you have been there or lived there you probably heard of the “bredele” which means Christmas cookies in Alsatian. And believe me there is a TON of different cookies.

I have to admit that back in France I was very lazy and was usually only buying them at the Christmas market, but now that I am far away from home I have been making them myself. It’s not quite the same but it is still delicious.

christmas cookies recipe

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I know that I am posting this recipe only now when Christmas has passed already, but like I always say there is never a bad time for cookies, and these will be perfect with your coffee or tea.

Because the holidays are always the time of the year where you are more likely to eat unhealthy food and gain weight, I have decided to make this recipe gluten-free and vegan! It will be easier to digest and also much more healthy! They are also perfect if you have anyone in your family with dietary restrictions. I bought most of the ingredients at bulk barn but you will find them without any problem at any organic/health store.

Let’s start cooking!

This recipe makes approximately 20 to 30 cookies.

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup brown rice flour
  • 1/3 cup coconut flour
  • 1/4 cup arrowroot flour
  • 3/4 cup almond flour
  • 4 tbsp cane sugar
  • 4 tbsp coconut oil
  • 1 tsp vanilla bean paste

Preparation:

1- Preheat the oven at 355 F. In a large bowl, add the brown rice flour, coconut flour, arrowroot flour, sugar and almond flour. Mix well.

2- Now, we are going to add all the “wet” ingredients, so the vanilla bean paste and the coconut oil. The dough should be non-sticky and you should be able to form a ball with it. The dough will naturally be a bit crumbly as it is similar to the dough of a shortbread cookie.

3- Form little moon crescent, place them on a baking sheet and let them cook in the oven for about 10-15 min. Let them cool down and roll them in icing sugar. If you are not too much of a sweet tooth, simply dust them with icing sugar.

Christmas cookies recipe

This recipe is very easy and does not take too much time which I like a lot as I always have to make different kind of cookies during Christmas. If you don’t want to make it gluten-free or vegan, simply replace the different flours with regular white flour, and replace the coconut oil by butter.

I hope you will enjoy this recipe and Happy New Year!

Don’t forget to share and like this recipe and let me know in the comments if you enjoyed it!

For more recipes and French food, follow me on Facebook, Twitter , Pinterest and Google+

Bon appétit!

Leave a Reply

